The 9th Edition Judging Panel – 2023

Howard Mandel (USA) – President of the Jury – President of the Jazz Journalists Association –
John Fenton (New Zealand) Blogger – Member of the Jazz Journalists Association
Fernando Rodriguez de Mondesert (Dominican Republic) – Founder and Director of Jazz en Dominicana.
Hiroki Sugita (Japan) – Director of jazz website “PJ Portrait in jazz”.
Jorge Grimaldos (Spain) – journalist and broadcaster
Debbie Mari (South Africa) – Vocalist and pianist.
Alain Derbez (Mexico) – Poet, narrator, essayist, song writer and musician
Krzysztof Komorek (Poland) – jazz journalist, founder and editor of Donos kulturalny.
Kodi Hutchinson (Canada) – Founder of Chronograph Records
Peter Slavid (UK) – Broadcaster and journalist for London Jazz News.
Jan Fritz (Germany) – Founder of the agency JAZZMEDIA & MORE
Vangelis Aragiannis (Greece) – Jazz journalist
Arnaldo DeSouteiro (Brazil) – Record Producer, Manager, Journalist, Publicist, Screenplay Writer, Arranger, Composer, Percussionist, Educator
Jagadeesh Ramanujam Mudambi (India) – Director of the Bangalore School of Music, heading the Jazz & Contemporary music Dept.
Jason Lee (China) – jazz journalist
Arthur Satyan (Armenia) – jazz pianist, composer and educator.
Marcela Breton (Colombia) – jazz writer and literary critic.
Hrayr Attarian (USA) – Journalist for All About Jazz, Chicago Jazz Magazine and Jazziz.
Anna-Maria Nitschke (Netherlands) – Senior producer of the Jazz Department at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam
Geila Zilkha (Japan) – Jazz Vocalist, singer, songwriter, educator.
Eddie Becton (USA) – Writer, producer, broadcaster, and professor.
Kathryn Shackleton (UK) – booking agency for Watermill Jazz in Dorking, UK
Iliana Ilieva (Bulgaria) – Founder of Big Bang Booking & Management Agency
Mery Zimny (Poland) – Music journalist Co-founder of internet radio JAZZKULTURA.
Ralph Gluch (Switzerland) – Booking-agent.
Adam Simmons (Australia) – Producer, Musician and editor for Dingo (Australian Jazz Journal).
Catherine Tackley (UK) – Vice President of the Royal Musical Association
Aya Al Azab (Poland) – Musicologist and journalist She collaborates with the JazzPRESS magazine
Wanda Majcher (Argentina) – jazz journalist
Giuseppe Mormile (Italy) – artistic director Venezia Jazz festival – Veneto Jazz
John Lumpkin II (USA) – producer, arranger, artist
Inge de Pauw (Belgium) – Founder of Stilletto Productions
Pachi Tapiz (Spain) – creator and director Tomajazz
Libero Farnè (Italy) – jazz journalist
Wilbert Sostre (Puerto Rico) – jazz radio producer and columnist
Matt Merewitz (USA) founder and director of Fully Altered Media
Anna Russkevych (Ukraine) – Art director Jazz on Dnieper
Scott Gudell (USA) – music historian and writer
Eyal Hareuveni (Israel) – jazz journalist

The 9th Edition winners – 2023

Pros & Amateurs category
1st place: NoSax NoClar (France) with the song Kahmsïn
2nd place: Shuteen Erdenebaatar Quartet (Germany) with the song Ups and Downs
3rd place: Benny Benack III (USA) with the song Catching Drift

Under 25’s category
1st place: Quietet (Poland) with the song Scand
2nd place: Schemes (Norway) with the song Rivers
3rd place: Adam Lamoureux Quartet (Canada) with the song The Path to Equanimity

Innovation prize to NoSax NoClar (France) with the song Kahmsïn
The Web Community Prize’s went to Thomas Mitrousis (Greece) with the song ” Fax from Fux”
for the Pros & Amateurs’ Category, for the Under 25 Category it went to Quietet (Poland) with the song ” Scand

Sign-ups are officially open! Pick your category, Jazz or Beyond Jazz, upload your best video, and compete in the biggest global improvised music showdown ever! Deadline: September 27, 2024.


Open chat
Welcome to 7Virtual Jazz Club.
How can we help you?